New Ulysses Resources

By JERRY GRIT

It’s been some time since I’ve read this book, and in that time a ton of new resources have come out that may actually make this thing much more of a breeze than anticipated. 

In addition to the book of annotations I mentioned, I’ve come across a few other tools. I’ve posted them below and under the “Ulysses Resources” on the right nav menu of our page. We’ll update this menu as we find helpful things.

Picture 33

  • Bloomsday Book: First off, you should all check out an oldie (recently rereleased as a newbie). Harry Blamires’ The Bloomsday Book: A Guide Through Joyce’s Ulysses offers great coherent summaries of the plot and themes. It’s meant to be a companion for the general reader (i.e., for the slobs, not the snobs). Amazon is selling it for nearly $30, which seems to me to be a complete rip (Ben’s bookstore doesn’t even sell it, though). Get it from the library, or you can see the majority of the text online here.
  • Ulysses “Seen”: There’s also a Ulysses comic book online, Ulysses “Seen”. Right now, they only have the first chapter posted, but it looks really good. Could be helpful if the rest of it gets posted soon.
  • DifficultBooks.com: There’s another online reading group that’s currently reading it, and attempting some online annotations on difficultbooks.com. Could be really good to collaborate with these folks.
  • Reading Ulysses Series on RTE: There’s also a radio series meant to accompany your reading, produced by an Irish radio station. I’m having some trouble getting the audio to work. But if possible, might be good to put this series on your zune.
  • Sparknotes: There are also plot summaries on Sparknotes (a ghetto Cliff’s Notes). They can be helpful and they’re short, but they’re really incomplete. Blamires does a much better job.  

I think these resources collectively amount to our very own Magic Wind Sack that will blow us safely through this thing. You kids won’t know the hell I went through.

6 Responses

  1. I know these are resources and not prerequisites (and that you are indeed a helpful guy), but the volume of material involved with this endeavor is threatening to catapault me into a state of paralysis.

    (This journey has shed light on your erratic, occasionally violent behavior during our senior year though.)

  2. I’m a middle child, all’s I do is help and help. And help some more.

    Violent and erratic? I don’t remember. I do remember not recognizing the homeric parallel until like 200 pages in, and then having to start all over again.

    Just curious, can you be catapaulted into paralysis?

  3. Not only can you be catapaulted into paralysis, you can also be doubled saltoed.

  4. Hey, thanks for the shout out. It’s always good to be noticed, but I’m also glad to be introduced to this site. One more website bringing Ulysses to the masses!

    I’ll definitely be following your reading of this book. Judging from the Odyssey review, your take on Ulysses should be good.

    Collaboration might be good, but I’m convinced that you’ll leave us in the dust after a couple of weeks. (We’ve been obsessing over the detail lately, which is easy to do with Joyce.)

    Here are some of the resources I’ve found: http://difficultbooks.com/content/links

    Don Gifford’s Ulysses Annotated and Columbia University’s annotations (http://www.columbia.edu/~fms5/ult01.htm#name0) have been my favorite so far.

    Keep up the good work.

    Cheers.

  5. you may want to check out “ReJoyce” by Anthony Burgess / very helpful in some sections (at least for Ulysses, I never read the Finnegan’s Wake stuff. saving that for later).

    • Oo, yeah. Forgot about that one. Thanks, carolyn. I’ll post it. But I fear the amount of resources I’m posting is freaking people out.

      And maybe later, we might get to the Wake?

Leave a Reply

