Odyssey Funmaries…THE SCHEDULE!

By JERRY GRIT

Tad’s comment yesterday made me realize that I needed to be clearer about what and when we’re funmarizing from the Odyssey.

As I mentioned, Joyce plays it pretty loose with the events he uses from the Odyssey to structure Ulysses. The events Joyce uses in Ulysses do not occur in the same order as they do in the Odyssey, although the 3 major sections are the same. He also uses multiple events from a single book in the Odyssey to frame entire chapters. If you’re not familiar with Ulysses, confusion may abound.

 So to help all those playing along at home, I’ve created this helpful and colorful fun schedule! Print it and keep it in your pocket!

Picture 34

*You are sincerely encouraged to contribute a funmary. Ben and I are already burning the candle at both ends here, and he’s totally freaking out. Pick one toward the end, let me know, and it’s all yours. Learn how fun a funmary can be!

 

**An event involving some Wandering Rocks does not occur in Odyssey. It’s only referred to. Not sure what’s going to happen here.


Odyssey Funmaries Begin THIS FRIDAY, May 28th!

We Read Page 1 of Ulysses on Tuesday, June 16th!

We’re Coming for You!

Picture 35Ultimate Army: Nathan Jones and John Heidenreich (UPW – NJPW)

14 Responses

  1. I can only imagine how long it took you to design that graph and then color code it.

    Glad to see I get the assignment for “Wandering Rocks” [12.3], which apparently will bear no fruit upon our later reading. Get ready for lots of obese cat pictures!

  2. Dear Mr. Jerrygrit,

    I would like to be involved in this reading Ulysses fiasco. I have never been a very avid reader, but I have not read a purely recreational book since I started graduate school and need to start somewhere. I would like to participate so that when I catch up with my classmates at graduation, I can casually work into conversation that I read Ulysses. Please allow me that opportunity.

    Sincerely,
    Andrew Cashmere

  3. Andrew Cashmere–

    Wandering Rocks is, as always shall be, enthusiastically open to all. You are welcomed aboard our fiasco.

    That said, your reputation precedes you. I’m a little dubious on what *exactly* you’re bringing aboard. You may not need my permission to join, but will suffer my wrath if I get even a whiff of your monkeyshines.

    –JG

  4. I am pretty sure that I am one of the scared individuals Mr. Voreblog is referring to in his “A Word About Our Moderator” post. I am now indeed scared. I will stand quietly in the corner and do my best to keep quiet and not upset anyone.

    As for what exactly I bring aboard, I am happy to offer:

    1. A psychological perspective to the readings (I will diagnose each character)
    2. References to 80s and 90s wrestlers.
    3. Befuddlement.

    I hope you find my offerings satisfactory.

  5. All valuable and worthwhile offerings. I look forward to your contributions, but not without severe skepticism.

  6. Did you use the copier at work to make that table?

  7. Ha! I don’t have a job. How do you expect me to run this thing and hold down a job? That chart took me three days and broke my calculator.

  8. In the spirit of immersing ourselves in Homeric times, I sort of hoped you had used an abacus to make your chart. I guess that dream is dead.

    A logistical question here: Since Messrs. Hoobler, Smith and Cashmere all seem to be aboard, how do they get set up as contributors?

  9. Mssrs. Hoobler, Smith & Cashmere LLP are also available to represent you in cases of accidental dismemberment, on-the-job injury, sexual harassment, trespass, divorce, malpractice and slander.

  10. This is a big day for me, making partner AND becoming a contributor to Wandering Rocks. I feel like I need to go buy an expensive pen and get my initials monogramed on the cuff of my dress shirts.

  11. Is Mark Hoobler’s avatar stabbing itself in the forehead with a dagger? I can’t blow up the image, but it sure looks like it. (Symbolic of the piercing migraine caused by lengthy immersion in Homeric textual analysis?)

  12. My “Gravatar,” aka Odysseus, is not stabbing himself in the head. I dont think.

    He is holding Telemachus in his arm. See how the artist has managed to render ‘Teley’ – as he is known to Homeric scholars – absolutley rigid and lifeless like a doll! You will have to wait for the Renaissance for a little life in your pictorial art.

Leave a Reply

